Meet the Editors


CVIR is managed by an international group of experts with wide-ranging expertise. 



    Professor Dierk Vorwerk
    Ingolstadt, Germany

Professor Dierk Vorwerk is CVIR's Editor-in-Chief and has held this position since 2003. He is currently Chairman of the Department of Diagnostic and Interventional Radiology at the Klinikum Ingolstadt in Germany.

Prof. Vorwerk is the renowned author of over 200 papers and more than 250 abstracts in the field of radiology. He has received numerous awards including the Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen Award (1993) of the German Roentgen Society and he holds honorary memberships for various medical societies.




    Professor Aghiad Al-Kutoubi
    Beirut, Lebanon

Prof. Aghiad Al-Kutoubi is currently Professor and Chairman of the Department of Radiology at the American University of Beirut Medical Center. He is a founding member of the Arab Medical Association in the UK and Ireland. In 2002, he was elected Vice President of the Arab Board in Radio-diagnosis and Medical Imaging.


   Dr. Shandra Bipat
   Amsterdam, Netherlands

Dr. Shandra Bipat evaluates the statistical data presented in CVIR. She is a clinical epidemiologist in the Department of Radiology of the Academic Medical Center (AMC) of the University of Amsterdam. Dr. Bipat’s main body of work includes systematic reviews and meta-analyses of various imaging techniques.


   Professor Francisco C. Carnevale
   Sao Paolo, Brazil 

Prof. Francisco C. Carnevale is currently Associate Professor in the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Sao Paulo. He is also the Director of the Interventional Radiology Fellowship Program and the Coordinator of the post graduate course “Interventional Radiology” of the University of Sao Paulo, Brazil.


   Dr. William A. Clark
   Kogarath, Australia

Dr. William A. Clark is the incumbent President of the Interventional Radiology Society of Australasia (IRSA). He is also currently Director of Angiography and Interventional Radiology at St. George Private Hospital in Kogarah, New South Wales.


    Professor Kimihiko Kichikawa 
    Nara, Japan

Professor Kimihiko Kichikawa joined CVIR’s team of Editors in 2014. He is currently the Director of the Interventional Radiology Center in Nara Medical University and the Vice President of the Japanese Society of Interventional Radiology (JSIR).

    Professor Alan Matsumoto
    Charlottesville, USA


Professor Alan Matsumoto is currently Chairperson of the Department of Radiology in the Division of Angiography and Interventional Radiology at the University of Virginia Health Sciences Center. He has received numerous awards including the “Best Doctors in America” award, which he received for four consecutive years.

    Dr. Robert Morgan
    London, United Kingdom

Dr. Robert Morgan is CVIR’s Editor for Review articles. He was a key figure in the establishment of the European Board of Interventional Radiology - the European qualification for interventional radiology. He is currently a Consultant vascular and interventional radiologist in London’s St. George’s Hospital.


    Professor Sanjiv Sharma
    New Delhi, India

Professor Sanjiv Sharma is a founding member and former President of the Indian Society of Vascular & Interventional Radiology. He is currently the Head of the Department of Cardiac Radiology at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences in New Delhi, India.


    Dr. Bien Soo Tan
    Singapore, Singapore

Dr. Bien Soo Tan is currently a Senior Consultant at Singapore General Hospital. He also chairs various task forces and committees including the Singaporean Specialist Training Committee for Diagnostic Radiology (2008 – present) and the Singaporean Ministry of Health’s Residency Advisory Committee for Diagnostic Radiology (2010 – present).


   Professor Gao-Jun Teng
   Nanjing, China


Professor Gao-Jun Teng is the incumbent President of the Chinese Society of Interventional Radiology (CSIR) as well as the President of the Jiangsu Provincial Branch of the Chinese Society of Radiology. He is also the Dean of the Medical School of Southeast University, China.


   Dr. Chang Jin Yoon
   Seoul, South Korea


Dr. Chang Jin Yoon is currently Associate Professor of the Department of Radiology at Seoul National University Bundang Hospital. Dr. Yoon has published a significant number of published papers, book chapters, and presentations, and has received a Certificate of Merit Award from RSNA, a Cum Laude Award from CIRSE, and an Award for Outstanding International Publication from the Korean Radiological Society.