Meet the Editors

CVIR is managed by an international group of experts with wide-ranging expertise. 


    Professor Klaus Hausegger
    Klagenfurt, Austria

Professor Klaus Hausegger is CVIR’s Editor-in-Chief. Prof. Hausegger graduated from the Medical University of Graz in 1984 and became a full radiologist in 1992. Shortly after, he became an Assistant Professor at the Medical University of Graz. He held positions as the Deputy Head of the Department of Radiology and the Department of Vascular and Interventional Radiology at the University Hospital of Graz.

His research interests lie in the field of vascular interventions including hepatobiliary interventions, TIPS and neurointerventions. He is currently the Department Head of Diagnostic and Interventional Radiology at Klagenfurt State Hospital in Austria.

Deputy Editor-in-Chief

    Dr. Raman Uberoi
    Oxford, UK


Dr. Raman Uberoi studied medicine at Cambridge University, and has been a consultant interventional radiologist for 20 years. He is a member of CIRSE several committees, as the Deputy Chairperson of the European Board of European Radiology (EBIR) and the Chairperson of the Standards of Practice Committee. Dr. Uberoi specialisation includes aortic and iliac stenting, SVC stenting, internal iliac artery embolizations, surveillance following EVAR and gastrostomy.

Section Editors

Oncological Interventions

    Professor Thierry de Baère
    Villejuif, France

Professor Thierry de Baère earned his degree in medicine from the Université de Paris-Sud, after which he completed his residency at the Université de Caen Basse in Normandy, where he worked under Prof. Jacques Theron in oncology. In 1990, he joined the Gustave Roussy Cancer Centre in Villejuif, France where he has remained ever since. Professor de Baère’s interests include tumour ablation, portal vein embolization and intra-arterial therapies for liver cancer.


   Dr. José Ignacio Bilbao
   Pamplona, Spain

Professor José Ignacio Bilbao studied medicine at the University of Navarra and has a specialisation in radiology at the University Clinic of Navarra (CUN), he worked in the hospital’s Radiology Department. During a 1982 fellowship at the MD Anderson in Houston, Texas, Professor Bilbao discovered the great therapeutic potential of angiographic procedures, needles and drainages. He co-established the CUN’s Interventional Radiology Department, and is the head of it.


   Professor Laura Crocetti
   Pisa, Italy

Professor Laura Crocetti, is an Assistant Professor of Radiology at the Division of Diagnostic Imaging and Intervention of Pisa University School of Medicine. She was awarded her medical degree by the Medical School of the University of Pisa, where she subsequently completed the residency program in Radiology and Interventional Radiology. Professor Crocetti’s interests include computed tomography, magnetic resonance, and ablative as well as intra-arterial therapies for liver tumours.


   Professor Gunnar Tepe
   Rosenheim, Germany

Professor Gunnar Tepe studied medicine at the Saarland University Saarland and the Free University Berlin. He is currently the Head of Diagnostic and Interventional Radiology at the Academic Hospital RoMed Clinic of Rosenheim. In 2003, he received the Wilhelm Conrad Roentgen Prize of the German Roentgen Society for the development of a radioactive stent for prevention of restenosis. Some of his special interest are in further development of local drug delivery for prevention of restenosis and the use of resorbable stents.

Regional Editors

    Professor Kimihiko Kichikawa 
    Nara, Japan

Professor Kimihiko Kichikawa joined CVIR’s team of Editors in 2014. He is currently the Director of the Interventional Radiology Center in Nara Medical University and the Vice President of the Japanese Society of Interventional Radiology (JSIR).


    Professor Sanjiv Sharma
    New Delhi, India

Professor Sanjiv Sharma is a founding member and former President of the Indian Society of Vascular & Interventional Radiology. He is currently the Head of the Department of Cardiac Radiology at the All India Institute of Medical Sciences in New Delhi, India.


    Dr. Bien Soo Tan
    Singapore, Singapore

Dr. Bien Soo Tan is currently a Senior Consultant at Singapore General Hospital. He also chairs various task forces and committees including the Singaporean Specialist Training Committee for Diagnostic Radiology (2008 – present) and the Singaporean Ministry of Health’s Residency Advisory Committee for Diagnostic Radiology (2010 – present).


   Professor Gao-Jun Teng
   Nanjing, China


Professor Gao-Jun Teng is the incumbent President of the Chinese Society of Interventional Radiology (CSIR) as well as the President of the Jiangsu Provincial Branch of the Chinese Society of Radiology. He is also the Dean of the Medical School of Southeast University, China.


   Dr. Chang Jin Yoon
   Seoul, South Korea


Dr. Chang Jin Yoon is currently Associate Professor of the Department of Radiology at Seoul National University Bundang Hospital. Dr. Yoon has published a significant number of published papers, book chapters, and presentations, and has received a Certificate of Merit Award from RSNA, a Cum Laude Award from CIRSE, and an Award for Outstanding International Publication from the Korean Radiological Society.

Advisor for Public Affairs

  Prof. Miltiadis Krokidis

  Cambridge, UK


Prof. Krokidis is the Vascular and Interventional Radiology Consultant at Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trustand a Visiting Professor at the Medical School, University of Bern, Switzerland. He has served in various positions in major European Radiological societies and he is the President-Elect of the Hellenic Medical Society UK.